Select Page

What Disabling Conditions qualify for Social Security Disability?

There is a listing of impairments, commonly called “The Blue Book”, which provides eligibility criteria for every aliment recognized by the Social Security Administration.

SSDI List of Impairments

There is a listing of impairments, commonly called “The Blue Book”, which provides eligibility criteria for every aliment recognized by the Social Security Administration.

It was originally called “The Blue Book” because the tables of disease were published in a blue pamphlet.

Now that the tables are published online, some disability experts refer to the listings as “the grid”. The grid is divided into adult and childhood impairments and then further into impairments by body system.

Social Security was originally a retirement program only, and did not originally include disability insurance- partially because of the difficulty of determining whether or not someone is capable of work.

In 1955, a 15-member committee of experts on medicine, insurance, welfare, and labor-relations was formed to develop standards for determining disability. They drew heavily from the evaluation process that was already in place for providing assistance for civilian victims of war-time violence. The standards and criteria they developed set the precedent for our current process.

The Social Security Disability Benefits Reform Act of 1984 revolutionized how claims were evaluated, as it created a more universal standard for disability determination.

Before the act was passed, it was very difficult to obtain benefits for less-obvious impairments such as severe pain or mental illness. The relaxed standards allowed many more disabled to seek government assistance. When President Ronald Regan signed the bill into law, he emphasized the importance of ensuring “no disabled beneficiary has to wait any longer than necessary for the proper decision on his or her case.”

The Blue Book is legally codified in the Code of Federal Regulations, appendix 1, subpart P, part 404. However, it is more easily accessible on the Social Security Administration’s website. There are currently 14 sections of listings:


  1.    Musculoskeletal
  2.    Special Senses and Speech
  3.    Respiratory System
  4.    Cardiovascular System
  5.    Digestive System
  6.    Genitourinary Disorders
  7.    Hematological Disorders
  8.    Skin Disorders
  9.    Endocrine Disorders
  10.    Congenital Disorders
  11.    Neurological
  12.    Mental Disorders
  13.    Cancer
  14.    Immune System Disorders


Each section is further divided into subsections correlating to a specific condition.

Then, under each condition are the criteria required for a case to rise to level of disability. For example, the criteria for burns:
8.08 Burns, with extensive skin lesions that have lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of at least 12 months (see 8.00F).
Section 8.00F provides guidelines for evaluating skin lesions. These criteria are designed by medical professionals so that those with serious disability can get help and those with minor aliments will be screened out. A minor burn usually does not result in long lasting skin lesions, but a serious burn can be permanently disfiguring.

The Social Security Administration does have a process for handling aliments not listed in the blue book.

The human body is amazingly complex and it would be nearly impossible to list all the things that can go wrong with it.
If your impairment is similar to a current listing, or you have multiple aliments which are not severe enough to qualify for any single listing, you may still be eligible. In these instances, the Social Security Administration tries to determine the “medical equivalence” to a listing.

5 star disability lawyers

"Words can not truly express the gratitude that I feel toward Mr. Lonnie Roach and his professional team. I give them an A+++. Very compassionate and prompt. Their priorities are first and foremost helping you succeed at your case. When you feel helpless, feeling like someone is on your side can mean the world to you. Thank you for working for the people."
-Amy K.

Top SS disability lawyer
top disability attorney

Blog Feed

Neurocognitive Disorder and obtaining Social Security disability benefits

Neurocognitive Disorder and obtaining Social Security disability benefits

The SSA recognizes Neurocognitive Disorders in its Blue Book. To qualify for disability a person must meet the requirements of the listing or prove they are unable to work.

Bemis, Roach & Reed has helped clients who are disabled from a wide variety of medical conditions. If you are unable to work due to any of the following conditions and have been denied disability benefits, contact us. We would like to help.

ltd assistance denied

best disability lawyer

board certified attorneys

Your Free Initial Consultation

At Bemis, Roach and Reed, if we can't help you, we will try to find the right attorneys for you.

We offer each of our prospective clients a free no obligation one hour phone or office consultation to see if we can help you and if you are comfortable with us. We know how difficult a time like this can be and how hard the decisions are. If we can be of assistance to you and help you find a solution to your issue we will even if that means referring you to another attorney.

Or simply call 512-454-4000
to schedule your
Free Consultation

Let's get you Started:

If you could provide us with some basic information about your claim we will get right back with you with a free case evaluation and schedule your Free Consultation Today.

Fields marked with an * are required

Call now for a FREE initial consultation
(512) 454-4000